The Yoga Tutor

The Various States of Mind

[ Excerpt from The Science of Yoga, page 529 ]

The yogis have defined five states of the chitta (mind) as follows:
  1. Mudha - Dull
  2. Kshipta - Distracted
  3. Vikshipta - Partially concentrated (less distracted)
  4. Ekagrata - Concentrated (one-pointed)
  5. Nirodha - Fully contained, pure consciousness
In "Vibhuti Pada," sutra 11, Sage Patanjali states:

Translation - samadhi transformation is the (gradual) dispersing of the distractions and simultaneous rising of one-pointedness.

Most people possess a chitta which can be termed either as mudha, kshipta or vikshipta. In the samyama stages of yoga, the chitta begins to undergo a transformation -- a gradual replacement of the 3 lower mental states with that of ekagrata, or one-pointedness. The yogi seeks to continually cultivate ekagrata and gain control over the dull and distracted states of mind...


NOTE: This yoga article is an excerpt from The Science of Yoga, an online yoga training program with streaming yoga videos and 600 pages of step-by-step yoga instruction.

"The Science of Yoga is a course worthy of

leather binding and an honored place in the
finest libraries in the world 
... It is indeed a masterful work."


Dr. John Michael Christian


Learn More About
The Science of Yoga Course

created at

Yoga Affiliate Program
Free Yoga Lessons
Get Your Free Copy
Yoga in India
The Yoga Masters Course